New entry in my “forbidden words in songs” list

August 31, 2009

“Society”

So now the list reads:

  1. Insane
  2. Junkie
  3. Society

Any of these words in a song’s lyrics automatically makes the song shit, ok? There are exceptions, of course (“Insaaane in the braaaain”), but not that many.

Oh, and Lily Allen – you really need to grow up a bit before you understand what “society” says (as opposed to what you and your hip young buddies think) about a 29 year-old’s life.

2 Responses to “New entry in my “forbidden words in songs” list”

  1. Dino Says:

    As much as I enjoy your words of wisdom, I really would like to know when you’re next getting a gig together. I missed the last one because of flu and I stupidly leant the Future Come And Get Me CD to a mate who misplaced it. He found the case but I reckon he used the CD as a coaster – some people have no repsect. You’ll be pleased to hear I’ve taken corrective action and I’ve reordered a CD and ordered a T-shirt.
    …but before I go, what about Black Sabbath’s ‘Am I going Insane?’ – its not a great song by Sabbath standards but its definitely not shit… As for ‘junkie’ and ‘Society’ well, I reckon you’re right there.
    Later,
    Dino

  2. Dino Says:

    …and what about the Avalanches – Frontier Psychiatrist? That mentions ‘insane’ in a sample. I reckon you’ve got a thing for ‘The Timewarp’, and I completely understand. Have you checked out the TV show Spaced? They ahave a wee rant concering people who like The Rocky Horror/Timewarp.

    I got the t-shirt Cormac and its bloody huge! Not to worry though as a boil wash should sort it out!
    Later.


Leave a Reply

