Can you store up sleep?

July 31, 2008

We have a new baby due tomorrow (yes, TOMORROW), so the subject of sleep is on my mind. I wonder can you build up sleep fat? If I had slept 12 hours a night for the last month and laid down some reserves, would they have stood to me over the next few months of sleeplessness? I kinda think they would – though I suppose also that you can get used to a certain amount of sleep the same way a fat person gets used to eating a lot. Does a fat person starve slower than a thin person? You’d think they would, seeing as they’ve more reserves, but it’s an unlikely subject for experimentation so who knows?

Anyway, it’s immaterial really, I have failed to build up any sleep fat because going to bed at 8pm would mean I had spent most of my day at work, and that thought is just too depressing (and often keeps me up well past my bedtime).

Leave a Reply

