Why I don’t listen to the news

January 5, 2008

I read “V for Vendetta” over Christmas, and in the introduction it says “This is a story for people who don’t turn off the news”. I could see where the guy was coming from, but I thought he was being pretty unfair – I don’t listen to or read the news, but I’m not “someone who turns off the news”. Hmmph. I used to read the paper but I had to give it up – there’s all this nasty shit going on the the world, so I feel morally obliged to do something about it … but I’m at a total loss as to what I can do (short of the obvious things, like buying organic food, that have no visible impact). Not good for my mental health. The only advantage of reading the damn news, as far as I can see, is it might help you win arguments with your political uncle, but it seems to me like that fleeting moment of triumph is small compensation for the emotional rollercoaster (dread! outrage! powerlessness!) I avoid by (mostly) ignoring it

Happy new year, by the way!

Leave a Reply

