Amn’t I

November 27, 2007

Don’t say “aren’t I?”. Please. Lookit, I’m not the sort of fella who quotes “Eats shoots and leaves” at people, or complains when somebody pronounces “film” incorrectly but, for jaykers sake, don’t let me hear you say “aren’t I?”. It’s a phrase concocted by a lickarse child who heard that they shouldn’t say “amn’t I?” and came up with this nonsense instead. The correct way to say it is “am I not?” – if you’re not prepared to use that, be true to yourself and say “amn’t I?”.

Leave a Reply

